Clayton Ridge School Board swears in new members, appoints president

Error message

  • Warning: array_merge(): Argument #1 is not an array in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 133 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Notice: Trying to get property of non-object in _simpleads_adgroup_settings() (line 343 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Warning: array_merge(): Argument #1 is not an array in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 157 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/

The final meeting of the retiring Clayton Ridge school board was called to order at 7 p.m. on Oct. 1 by board secretary Mary Seifert due to the absences of President Kathy Ihde and Vice-President Janice Andregg. Members in attendance were John Heying, Mike Finnegan, Christine Aulwes, Jason Reimer and Jeff Hoffmann.  

Secretary Seifert reviewed the abstract of school election results held on Sept. 8, of which three hundred seventy-three voters cast ballots for the race. Christine Aulwes received 242 votes, Sharon Cunningham received 237 votes, Alicia Helle received 284 votes, John Heying received 303 votes, Ellen Johnson received 244 votes and there were 12 write-ins.  Aulwes, Helle, Heying and Johnson were elected for four-year terms.

Before adjourning, the retiring board recognized Dr. Jeff Hoffmann and Janice Andregg for their seven years of service as board members to the district. The first meeting of the new board was then called to order.

Secretary Seifert administered the oath of office to newly elected members John Heying, Christine Aulwes, Alicia Helle and Ellen Johnson. Heying nominated Ihde for president and Johnson seconded it. Reimer nominated Aulwes and Heying seconded it.  Aulwes nominated Heying and Helle seconded it.  Heying moved and Reimer seconded that nominations cease. After the casting of votes, Ihde received one, Aulwes received one and Heying received four. Heying was elected president.

Heying nominated Aulwes for vice-president and Reimer seconded it. Reimer moved and Heying seconded that nominations cease.  Aulwes was unanimously elected vice-president. Secretary Seifert administered the oath of office to newly elected president Heying and vice-president Aulwes.

The board then made the following appointments: Mary Seifert as board secretary with a raise of $.50/hour, David Schlueter as board treasurer, The Guttenberg Press as the official newspaper, three local banks as depositories for school funds with a maximum depository amount of $3,000,000 per bank, Lynch Dallas Law Firm of Cedar Rapids as legal counsel for the district, and board member Mike Finnegan to the Clayton County Conference Board. Other appointments were tabled until the Oct. 20 special meeting. The board also elected to hold regular meetings on the second Thursday of the month at 7 p.m.;  January – June to be held in Garnavillo and July – December to be held in Guttenberg.  

Ronnie Moser was hired for the vacant bus and shuttle route positions, and the board accepted the resignations of Rob Anderson and Bart Burgin as middle school football coaches. Board members also approved the request of the  FFA to attend the National FFA Convention in Louisville, Ky., Oct. 27 - 31, before adjourning at 9:30 p.m.

(Taken from board minutes by Mary Seifert, edited by Molly Moser.)

Rate this article: 
No votes yet