Primary election is June 7

Error message

  • Warning: array_merge(): Argument #1 is not an array in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 133 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Notice: Trying to get property of non-object in _simpleads_adgroup_settings() (line 343 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Warning: array_merge(): Argument #1 is not an array in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 157 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/

Iowans will head to the polls Tuesday, June 7, for the primary election, whittling down the candidates for the Nov. 8 general election. Voters must declare a party affiliation in order to vote in this election.

For. U.S. Senate, incumbent Charles Grassley is the only candidate on the Republican ballot for the six-year term. In November, he will face one of four Democratic challengers: Thomas Fiegen, Robert Hogg, Patty Judge or Bob Krause. 

Incumbent Rod Blum, the District 1 U.S. Representative, is the lone candidate on the Republican ballot. Pat Murphy and Monica Vernon are on the Democratic ballot. The term is two years.

For District 28 State Senator, incumbent Michael Breitbach is the only Republican running, while Jan Heikes is the only Democrat running. The term is four years.

For District 56 State Representative, incumbent Patti Ruff is running unopposed on the Democratic side for the two-year term. Lowell Engle and Kristi Hager are running on the Republican side.

At the county level, the board of supervisors race includes two Republicans: Chad Freeman and Ray Peterson. Four Democrats—Steve Doeppke, Michael Finnegan, Joleen Jansen and Lester Simons—are facing off to be the one name on the ballot in November. The term is four years.

For county auditor, Deborah Scott is the only Republican on the ballot for the four-year term. Jennifer Garms and Elizabeth Jaster are running against one another on the Democratic side.

Clayton County Sheriff Mike Tschirgi is running unopposed as a Republican. The term is four years.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 9 p.m. The polling place for Mendon is the McGregor Public Library. For Farmersburg-Wagner, it is the Farmersburg Community Center, and, for Giard-Luana-Monona, it is the Monona Community Center.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet