Swim pool bond issue passes

Error message

  • Warning: array_merge(): Argument #1 is not an array in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 133 of /home/pdccourier/public_html/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/simpleads.helper.inc).
  • Notice: Trying to get property of non-object in _simpleads_adgroup_settings() (line 343 of /home/pdccourier/public_html/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/simpleads.helper.inc).
  • Warning: array_merge(): Argument #1 is not an array in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 157 of /home/pdccourier/public_html/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/simpleads.helper.inc).

Supporters of the Wave of the Future campaign gathered on Tuesday night to celebrate the passing of a bond referendum. Votes were overwhelmingly in favor of funding a new swimming pool for Guttenberg. Front from left are Karilyn McArthur, Debbie Eulberg, Jessica Cline, Bec Knudtson, Deb Moser, Molly Moser, Ammi Hugo, Norma Thiese, Julie Rastetter, Luke Hoffman and Russ Loven; back row, Dr. Robert Merrick, Judy Puls, Al Ullerich, Paula Deutmeyer, MJ Smith and Austin Greve. (Photo submitted)

In a special election on March 6, Guttenberg voters approved a measure to issue bonds in an amount not to exceed $2.8 million to help finance a new swimming pool.

Unofficial results as announced by Clayton County Auditor Jennifer Garms showed 300 votes in favor and 44 opposed, for 79% voter approval. Voter turn-out was low, at only 26% of all registered eligible voters.

Results became official following the canvass of votes by the Board of Supervisors on March 12 (after Press deadline). Garms noted that as of March 7, there were still 13 absentee ballots outstanding. If properly postmarked and received before the canvass, final vote tallies may be adjusted.

Total cost of the new facility is estimated at $4 million. Fundraising has resulted in donations and pledges totalling over $848,000. The total bond capacity may not be needed, depending on grants and other sources. 

Consultants Burbach Aquatics, Inc., were hired in 2012, and an official committee for researching solutions to Guttenberg's aging pool was established soon after. 

Current members of the Wave of the Future committee include co-chairs Bec Knudtson and Jessica Cline, MJ Smith, Al Ullerich, Dr. John Barron, Molly Moser, Mary Streich and Deb Moser. Leading dozens of additional volunteer members of the campaign cabinet are honorary co-chairs Dr. Robert Merrick and Dr. Jim Osterhaus.

"Guttenberg voters invested in the future of their community by overwhelmingly approving the bond vote for a new pool. All the volunteers who worked tirelessly on this project are grateful for the support that was shown on election night," said co-chair Knudtson.

Reporting by Shelia Tomkins and Molly Moser.

Rate this article: 
Average: 4 (6 votes)