Ballot summary for Nov. 2 election

Error message

  • Warning: array_merge(): Argument #1 is not an array in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 133 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Notice: Trying to get property of non-object in _simpleads_adgroup_settings() (line 343 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Warning: array_merge(): Argument #1 is not an array in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 157 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/

By Shelia Tomkins

Clayton County residents will join voters across the state and country to choose candidates in mid-term elections for national, state offices and county offices.

Polling sites will open at 7 a.m. and close at 9 p.m.

In Clayton County, the only contested race is for two seats on the Board of Supervisors. Voters will choose from a field of four candidates: Richard Dinan, Joleen Jansen, Steve Doeppke and Sharon Keehner.

Incumbents running unopposed for other Clayton County offices are: treasurer, Linda Zuercher; recorder, Sue Meyer and attorney, Alan Heavens.

Clayton County is divided by Iowa House Districts 55 and 56. Vying for State Representative from District 56 are Lori Egan (D) and Anne Osmundson (R). District 55 candiates are Kayla Koether (D), and Michael Bergan (R). 

Local non-partisan elections include two open seats on the Soil and Water Conservation District Commission, with Darryl Keehner and Mark Glawe on the ballot, and the County Agricultural Extension Council, with five candidates for five seats: Dennis Wolter, Susan Ruhser, Blair Lincoln, Trent Henkes and Katherine Russ. 

The ballot will also ask voters if judges on the Court of Appeals and District Court should be retained.

Candidates for the U.S. House of Representatives from Iowa District 4 are Abby Finkenauer (D), incumbent Rod Blum (R), and Troy Hageman (L).

Candidates for state office are:

Governor/Lt. Governor: Fred Hubbell and Rita Hart (D), incumbent Kim Reynolds and Adam Gregg (R), Jake Porter and Lynne Gentry (L), Gary Siegwarth and Natalia Blaskovish (Clear Water Party of Iowa).

Secretary of State: Deidre DeJear (D), Paul Pate (R), and Jules Ofenbakh (L).

State Auditor: Rob Sand (D), Mary Mosiman (R), Fred Perryman (L).

Treasurer: Michael Fitzgerald (D), Jeremy Davis (R), Timothy Hird (L).

Secretary of Agriculture: Tim Gannon (D), Mike Naig (R), Rick Stewart (L).

Attorney General: Tom Miller (D), Marco Battaglia (L).

Rate this article: 
Average: 3 (1 vote)