Crawford County Community Fund names leadership honorees

Error message

  • Warning: array_merge(): Argument #1 is not an array in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 133 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Notice: Trying to get property of non-object in _simpleads_adgroup_settings() (line 343 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Warning: array_merge(): Argument #1 is not an array in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 157 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/

The Crawford County Community Fund has announced the names of its board-selected 2020 Leadership Awards recipients. In its 10th year, these awards celebrate local individuals, businesses and organizations that have made significant contributions in Crawford County.

Recipients include:

•Business Development Award: Gerry and Mary Krachey, of L&M’s BP, Wauzeka;

•Above and Beyond Awards: Artie and Debbie Johnson, of Johnson’s One Stop, Seneca;

•Tourism Award: Crawford County Dairy Breakfast;

•Community Leadership and Service Award: Friends of the Gays Mills Swimming Pool;

•Educational Leadership Award: Kelsey Kleven, of the Prairie du Chien School District;

•Outstanding Youth Leader Award: Julie DeHart, president of Prairie United Soccer Association, Inc.

“We realize the great pride that ensues by highlighting the good that is happening around us,” said Lori Bekkum, CCCF advisory board chair. “These awards provide the opportunity for everyone to recognize the people, organizations, and businesses in our county who invest their time, talent, and resources to make our region a great place to live, work and play.”

Although the COVID-19 pandemic has precluded the usual spring Leadership Awards ceremony this year, the Crawford County Community Fund plans to provide personal recognition to the recipients at a future date, to be determined.

The Crawford County Community Fund is a permanent, unrestricted, charitable endowment established in 2008 to serve the Crawford County area, with holdings of over $150,000. Annually, a portion of the fund’s earnings is given back to the community in the form of grants.  The Crawford County Community Fund is a component of the Community Foundation of Southern Wisconsin that serves to match charitable donors with the needs of communities in the following counties: Rock, Walworth, Crawford, Iowa, Lafayette, Green, Grant and Vernon.  The Foundation is a 501(c)(3) charitable organization with assets in excess of $59 million. For more information, visit or call (608) 314-2671.

Rate this article: 
Average: 5 (3 votes)