Clayton Co. voters choose city, school candidates

Error message

  • Warning: array_merge(): Expected parameter 1 to be an array, bool given in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 133 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Notice: Trying to get property 'settings' of non-object in _simpleads_adgroup_settings() (line 343 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Warning: array_merge(): Expected parameter 1 to be an array, bool given in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 157 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type null in include() (line 24 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/templates/simpleads_ajax_call.tpl.php).

By Shelia Tomkins

Clayton County voters went to the polls on Tuesday, Nov. 7, to choose candidates for school and municipal offices. The following results are unofficial; winners will be declared following the official canvass of votes by the Clayton County Board of Supervisors. 

Clayton Ridge School Board

Incumbent Ellen Johnson, running unopposed, was elected to fill a vacancy on the board for a two-year term. She received 499 votes.

Six candidates were competing for four seats on the school board for four-year terms. Winners were Sam Brandt with 424 votes, Daniel Kregel 420, Thomas Pierce 407 and Shelly A. Mommer 344. Other candidates were Michelle Mertens-Dodgen with 303 votes and Hunter Koth 192 votes. 

City of Guttenberg

Incumbents Austin Greve and Jane Parker ran unopposed for two open seats on the city council. Parker received 245 votes and Greve 220. 

There were three candidates for three seats on the hospital board of trustees: Bill Allyn received 263 votes, Alicia Walke 247, and Austin Coon 240. 


Charles "Chuck" Lawson was the lone candidate for mayor and received 109 votes. There were no candidates on the ballot for two seats on the council. There were 187 write-in votes — the top two were Bill Rademacher with 61 and Chad Schmelzer 28.

North Buena Vista: Running unopposed for mayor, Alan Breitbach received 19 votes. There were five candidates for five city council:  Robert Ludovissy, Diane Ludovissy and James Gordon received 20 votes each; Pam Breitbach 19 and Ken Ludovissy 17. 

Garber: For mayor, Nioka Schroeder, running unopposed, received 13 votes. Votes for five council seats went to Leroy Dugan 14, Edward Van Lennep 14, Alicia Van Lennep 14, R. Lyle Schroeder 12 and the late Ronnie Willie 1. There were 14 write-ins, with 11 of those for Daniel Vorwald.

Clayton: Kaitlyn Kuehl-Berns, the lone candidate for mayor, tallied 20 votes. There were five  candidates for five council seats: Nichole Michels 17, Tom Brandel 14, Toni Schultz 13, Kimberly Kuehl 10 and Dixie Connell 8. 

Elkport: No one filed for the mayor's seat or for three open seats on the council. Roger Bolsinger received four write-ins for mayor. For council Dianne Bolsinger received 4 write-in votes, Susie Steve 4 and Jeff Hansel 3.

Osterdock: No one filed for the mayor's position or for five open seats on the city council. Brad Miller received four write-ins for mayor.  For council,   write-in votes were for Clifford Judkins 5, Dennis Sargent 5, Joe Meisner 5, Robert Petsche 5 and Pat Cherne 2.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet